Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Colleges & Universities

Lexington County is within minutes of several outstanding four-year private and public colleges and universities.

The University of South Carolina

The main campus of the University of South Carolina, located in downtown Columbia, is less than 10 minutes from Lexington County. The university boasts a long historic presence and has an impressive array of academic offerings including more than 370 degree programs though its 15 degree-granting colleges and schools.


Allen University

Just 15 minutes from Lexington County, Allen University was founded in 1870 by the African Methodist Episcopal Church. Allen University is the first institution of higher education in South Carolina founded by African Americans for the express purpose of educating African Americans. It is a Christian Liberal Arts institution of higher education and has a distinguished history, rich in the tradition of promoting spiritual growth and preparing men and women to become productive leaders in an ever-changing society. Allen University offers 4-year degree programs in several areas of study from Biology to Social Sciences.


Benedict College

Located 15 minutes from Lexington County, Benedict College, was founded in 1870 on an 80-acre plantation in Columbia. The new school was established for the recently emancipated people of African descent. Maintaining a liberal arts tradition, Benedict College offers bachelor degree programs in twenty-nine major areas of study to meet the needs of a complex and technological society at home and world-wide as the twenty-first century sets new parameters for peoples across the universe.  The college sponsors programs in various Schools such as the School of Business and the  School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.


Columbia Biblical Seminary & Columbia International University

Within 20 minutes of Lexington County, Columbia Biblical Seminary & School of Missions and Columbia International University,  are located near downtown Columbia on a 400-acre campus that overlooks the Broad River. The schools have an enrollment which was organized in 1936 as the graduate division of Columbia Bible College. From its beginning, the school has emphasized the preparation of men and women for overseas service. This focus was reflected in 1947 when the graduate division became the Graduate School of Missions. From 1973 until 1987, the seminary was known as the Columbia Graduate School of Bible & Missions, emphasizing their commitment to prepare men and women for biblically-based ministries both in North America and overseas.


Newberry College

Newberry College's 80-acre campus is located in the center of South Carolina in the city of Newberry, and is less than 1 hour from Lexington County. With over 34 majors (including church leadership and a new forensic science program), 840 students, and a 13:1 student-teacher ratio, Newberry College ensures that students receive individual attention and guidance as part of its values-based curriculum. With more than fifty organizations on campus, Newberry College provides many opportunities for excellence outside the classroom. Over forty percent of their students participate in NCAA Division 2 inter-collegiate sports. The athletics program includes fifteen NCAA competitive teams for men and women.


Other Institutions of Higher Education In South Carolina 

South Carolina has many outstanding 4-year, 2-year, and technical colleges located throughout the state:
Aiken Technical College, Anderson University Bob Jones University, Central Carolina Technical College, Charleston Southern University, Claflin University, Clemson University, Clinton Junior College, Coastal Carolina University, Coker College, College of Charleston, Columbia College (South Carolina),  Columbia International University, Converse College, Denmark Technical College, Erskine College,  Francis Marion University,Florence-Darlington Technical College, Fortis College, Furman University,  Greenville Technical College, Horry-Georgetown Technical College, Lander University, Limestone College,  Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary, Midlands Technical College, Morris College,  Northeastern Technical College, North Greenville University, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College, Piedmont Technical College, Presbyterian College,  South Carolina State University, Southern Methodist College, Southern Wesleyan University, Spartanburg Community College, Spartanburg Methodist College, Technical College of the Lowcountry, The Citadel, Tri-County Technical College, Trident Technical College, University of South Carolina System, Voorhees College, Williamsburg Technical College, Winthrop University, Wofford College, York Technical College, USC-Beaufort .